People´s Democratic Republic of Algeria
Capital: Algiers
Official Language: Arabic (official)
Unofficial Languages: Tamazight (Berber dialects), French
Government: Presidential Republic
Head of State: (leave this blank for players)
Formation: 1958
Population: 33,769,669 (2008)
Currency: Algerian dinar (DZD)
Human Rights Record Human Rights in Algeria
Territorial Disputes Libya currently claims part of southeastern Algeria.
Ongoing Conflicts Béchar, Chirac Pastures, South East Algeria

Welcome to the international embassy of Algeria! (Player added remarks)

Diplomatic RelationsEdit

Nation currently enjoys diplomatic relations with (List)

Nation is a member of (List)

Nation is a signatory to the following treaties (list)

//We will do this bit later, just have the template up so we can do it.


Algeria (الجزائر, Al Jaza'ir), officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, is an Berber country in North Africa. It is the largest country of the Mediterranean sea, the second largest on the African continent and the eleventh-largest country in the world in terms of land area. It is bordered by Tunisia in the northeast, Libya in the east, Niger in the southeast, Mali and Mauritania in the southwest, a few kilometers of the Western Sahara in the west, Morocco in the northwest, and the Mediterranean Sea in the north.

Algeria is a member of the United Nations, African Union and OPEC. It also contributed towards the creation of the Maghreb Union. Constitutionally, Algeria is defined as an Arab, and Amazigh (Berber) country

Brief HistoryEdit

The first inhabitants of Algeria were Berber. Over the centuries, the country has seen the influence of Carthaginians, Romans, Vandals, and the Arabs (this last group in the 8th century).

In 1518 300 years of Ottoman rule began under a regency that had Algiers as its capital. Subsequently, with the institution of a regular Ottoman administration, governors with the title of pasha ruled. Turkish was the official language, and Arabs and Berbers were excluded from government posts. In 1671 a new leader took power, adopting the title of dey. In 1710 the dey persuaded the sultan to recognize him and his successors as regent, replacing the pasha in that role.

Although Algiers remained a part of the Ottoman Empire, the Ottoman government ceased to have effective influence there. European maritime powers paid the tribute demanded by the rulers of the privateering states of North Africa (Algiers, Tunis, Tripoli, and Morocco) to prevent attacks on their shipping. The Napoleonic wars of the early nineteenth century diverted the attention of the maritime powers from suppressing what they derogatorily called piracy. But when peace was restored to Europe in 1815, Algiers found itself at war with Spain, the Netherlands, Prussia, Denmark, Russia, and Naples. Algeria and surrounding areas, collectively known as the Barbary States, were responsible for piracy in the Mediterranean Sea, as well as the enslaving of Christians, actions which brought them into the First and Second Barbary War with the United States of America.

In 1830, the French invaded Algeria and expanded over North Africa. During the following 132 yeas, Algeria was a French colony. In 1962 Algeria obtained independence from France.

Since 1994 the military has exerted power in Algeria.

Diplomatic MessagesEdit

(Please post them here)


Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.