The Czech Republic
800px-Flag of the Czech Republic.svg
Capital: Prague
Official Language: Czech
Government: Parliamentary republic
Head of Government: Jan Fischer
Formation: Czechoslovakia dissolved January 1, 1993
Population: 10,424,926 (2007 estimate)
Currency: Koruna (CZK)
Human Rights Record Human Rights in the Czech Republic
Territorial Disputes Territorial Disputes of the Czech Republic
Ongoing Conflicts None

Welcome to the international embassy of the Czech Republic! (Player added remarks)

Diplomatic RelationsEdit

Nation currently enjoys diplomatic relations with (List)

Czech Republic is a member of the UN, WTO,EU and NATO

Nation is a signatory to the following treaties (list)

//We will do this bit later, just have the template up so we can do it.


The Czech Republic (Czech: Česká republika), also called Czechia, is a landlocked country in Central Europe and a member state of the European Union. The country has borders with Poland to the northeast, Germany to the west, Austria to the south, and Slovakia to the east. The capital and largest city is Prague (Czech: Praha). The country is composed of the historic regions of Bohemia and Moravia, as well as parts of Silesia.

The Czech Republic is a pluralist multi-party parliamentary representative democracy. President Václav Klaus is the current head of state. The Prime Minister is the head of government. The Parliament has two chambers — the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate. The Czech Republic joined NATO in 1999 and the European Union in 2004. It is also a member of the OECD, the Council of Europe and the Visegrád Group.

The Czech Republic made economic reforms such as fast privatization and flat tax. Annual gross domestic product growth has recently been around 6%. The country is the first former member of the Comecon to achieve the status of a developed country (2006) according to the World Bank. The Czech Republic also ranks best compared to the former Comecon countries in the Human Development Index.

Brief HistoryEdit

Following the Battle of Mohács, the Czech lands fell under the Habsburg rule from 1526, later becoming part of the Austrian Empire and Austria-Hungary. The independent Republic of Czechoslovakia was formed in 1918, following the collapse of the Austro-Hungarian empire after World War I. After the Munich Agreement, German occupation of Czechoslovakia and the consequent disillusion with the Western response and gratitude for the liberation of the major portion of Czechoslovakia by the Red Army, the Communist party won plurality (38 %)[1] in 1946 elections. In an 1948 coup d'état, Czechoslovakia became a communist-ruled state. In 1968, the increasing dissatisfaction culminated in attempts to reform the communist regime. The events, known as the Prague Spring of 1968, ended with an invasion of armies of Warsaw Pact countries, and the troops remained in the country until the overturn in 1989 Velvet Revolution, when the communist regime collapsed. On January 1, 1993 Czechoslovakia peacefully dissolved into its constituent states, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Diplomatic MessagesEdit

Welcome to the Republic's Embassy, feel free to contact us on any issues you wish to discuss.


Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.